Sketches…drawings…stuff

Destruction…or Not

After yesterday’s post, I started wondering why doing client work makes me think I’m “settling.” Granted, I can’t always draw my favorite subject matter or use my favorite medium when I’m working for someone else, but that doesn’t mean that I need to sell myself short. Those assignments that are outside my comfort zone are a challenge and any result that passes muster should be viewed as a success. I guess I could argue that I might not think it was up to my standards, but how do I set standards on something I’ve never done before? And even if I have done it before, maybe I’m doing it better, or more efficiently, or more accurately. There’s a never-ending learning curve in art. If you find you’re doing things the same way all the time, there’s probably something wrong. So, from now on, I’m going to focus on how I’m doing my work, not just on the result. I’m thinking I’ll find things to be proud of.

And if not, I’ll just tear it up.

Leave a Reply

