Sketches…drawings…stuff

Destruction Can Be Good

I destroy stuff. I mean, my own stuff. Sometimes I work on something for days or weeks and, finally, at the end, decide it just doesn’t make the cut. And I tear it up and throw it away.

I’ve had some people tell me that’s the wrong thing to do; they say that just because I don’t like it doesn’t mean someone else won’t. And they’re right, of course. Just as there are billions of people on the planet, there are billions of ways to love (or hate) art. But I think that’s all beside the point. When I’m working on something, as long as I’m not doing it specifically for someone else, mine is the only opinion that matters. And when I’m working like that, for myself, without someone else’s needs in mind, I don’t have to settle for anything but what I want. There’s no “Well, that’ll have to do…” or “If I had time, I could do it better….” It’s simply “Yes,” or “No.”

That’s a luxury I don’t often get as a freelancer, so I intend to take advantage of it whenever necessary. Even if it means I have nothing to upload because I, um, tore it up.

Leave a Reply

