Sketches…drawings…stuff

Ideas, Ideas…

Over the last year, I’ve been rolling this idea around in my head of a series of drawings about the life of St. Christopher. I’m really not a religious person and I’ve never done much religious art (except one commission from a friend), so it seems weird to me that a) I’d get an idea like this and b) it would actually stay in my head for a year. It was a comment from a former co-worker about getting a tattoo that started it all—he mentioned something about St. Christopher having a dog’s head, which I’d never heard of. It led me to this story on Wikipedia, which got the idea slowly churning. I mean, there’s something compelling about the story of a seven-and-a-half-foot-tall man with a dog’s head going around looking for someone to serve who’s more bad-ass than he is. And, of course, the only more bad-ass guy he can find is God. Something in that makes me want to draw it. I don’t know what.

But just because I want to draw it doesn’t mean it’s a good idea. On the other hand, just because it’s not a good idea doesn’t mean I shouldn’t draw it. So there I am, stuck. Well, not really, since I already started it. But it’s hard to decide if I should spend real time at it, or just give it the few minutes I give all my other “is this really worth it” ideas. Which is to say, all of them.

Maybe I’ve already spent more time on it than it deserves.

Reprobus

Leave a Reply

