Sketches…drawings…stuff

It’s That Time of Year…

…the time of year when I endlessly procrastinate doing my Christmas cards. Way back in grade school I used to make cards out of construction paper and glue to send to my grandmothers and a small selection of aunts and uncles. After the grandmothers passed away, more aunts and uncles started asking if they could get those really cool handmade Christmas cards, too, and being the accommodating person I am, I…tried. But making cut paper cards isn’t that easy, and it takes a lot of time, and I was getting to be college-age by this time and, really, who does handmade Christmas cards after the age of twelve anyway??

But then I discovered linoleum blocks—well, re-discovered, since I’d made some in grade school art classes years before—and realized it was the answer to all my troubles (I mean, Christmas card troubles). With one block I could make as many handmade Christmas cards as I needed! No more picking and choosing among friends and family members (who really deserves a card this year?); no more starting the Christmas card-making-season in mid-January! And, really, it did revolutionize the whole process. It was amazingly easy to make forty or fifty cards in just a few days. Like, the few days before Christmas…December 21st, for instance…so the cards get to their recipients by the 28th…or New Year’s Eve, at the latest….

You see, it’s one of those annoying personal traits I have that the less time something takes, the more I put it off. So solving the Christmas card time crunch only served to make it worse.

But this year, it will be different. I’m going to start this weekend, and I’m going to get them done by next week. And they’ll be in the mail by the first week of December. No, really, this year I’m going to do it. I just have to come up with something…soon….

christmas card

This was last year's card. This year's? Who knows....

Leave a Reply

