Sketches…drawings…stuff

Money vs. Art

chickadee

Haven't I done this before...a lot...?

Ever feel like you were in a rut? Ever feel like your whole life was running along the bottom of a well-established tread mark? I’ve been trying to give myself a kick in the butt and do something different, but everything I do seems like something I’ve done before. I remember a long, long time ago, when the fifth-grade teacher was hanging up the class art projects, one of my classmates said to me, “I can always tell which one is yours.” Sometimes it seems like a curse that all along, regardless of the subject or media, I have always done things the same way.

On the other hand, plenty of illustrators and artists have a recognizable style. Style is a way to success. If art directors and gallery owners like your style, you get plenty of business. But what if you get bored with it? Success can become a prison if it depends on you doing the same thing over and over. What if you want to shake things up and change things around, and people aren’t so happy with your art anymore?

I guess it comes down to the danger of trying to make money doing something you love—at some point you have to make a choice between the money and the love. Keep following the rut so you can get paid or live your life of meaning and purpose…and starve.

Leave a Reply

